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Test bank managerial accounting by garrison 13e chapter 06

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Ans: True AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 2 Level: Easy 3.. Ans: False AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3 Level: Me

Trang 1

Ans: True AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 2 Level: Easy

3 In two companies making the same product and with the same total sales and total expenses, the contribution margin ratio will be lower in the company with a higher proportion of fixed expenses in its cost structure

Ans: False AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3 Level: Medium

4 If the variable expense per unit increases, and all other factors remain constant, the contribution margin ratio will increase

Ans: False AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3 Level: Medium

5 The impact on net operating income of any given dollar change in total sales can be estimated by multiplying the CM ratio by the dollar change in total sales

Ans: True AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3 Level: Easy

6 A company with sales of $70,000 and variable expenses of $40,000 should spend

$10,000 on increased advertising if the increased advertising will increase sales by

$20,000

Ans: False AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Medium

Trang 2

7 The formula for the break-even point is the same as the formula to attain a given targetprofit for the special case where the target profit is zero.

Ans: True AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5; 6 Level: Medium

8 An increase in total fixed expenses will not affect the break-even point so long as the contribution margin ratio remains unchanged

Ans: False AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Medium

9 All other things the same, a reduction in the variable expense per unit will cause the break-even point to rise

Ans: False AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Medium

10 The unit sales volume necessary to reach a target profit is determined by dividing the target profit by the contribution margin per unit

Ans: False AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 6 Level: Medium

11 All other things the same, the margin of safety in dollars at a given level of sales will tend to be lower for a capital-intensive company than for a labor-intensive company with high variable expenses

Ans: True AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 7 Level: Medium

12 The margin of safety in dollars equals the excess of budgeted (or actual) sales over thebreak-even volume of sales

Ans: True AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 7 Level: Easy

13 A company with high operating leverage will experience a lower reduction in net operating income in a period of declining sales than will a company with low

operating leverage

Trang 3

14 If Q is the quantity of a product sold, P is the price per unit, V is the variable expense per unit, and F is the total fixed expense, then the degree of operating leverage is equalto: [Q(P-V)] ÷ [Q(P-V)-F]

Ans: True AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 8 Level: Hard

15 A shift in the sales mix from products with high contribution margin ratios toward products with low contribution margin ratios will raise the break-even point

Ans: True AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 9 Level: Medium

Multiple Choice Questions

16 Contribution margin can be defined as:

A) the amount of sales revenue necessary to cover variable expenses

B) sales revenue minus fixed expenses

C) the amount of sales revenue necessary to cover fixed and variable expenses.D) sales revenue minus variable expenses

Ans: D AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 1 Level: Easy

17 Which of the following statements is correct with regard to a CVP graph?

A) A CVP graph shows the maximum possible profit

B) A CVP graph shows the break-even point as the intersection of the total sales revenue line and the total expense line

C) A CVP graph assumes that total expense varies in direct proportion to unit sales.D) A CVP graph shows the operating leverage as the gap between total sales revenue and total expense at the actual level of sales

Ans: B AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 2 Level: Easy

Trang 4

18 If both the fixed and variable expenses associated with a product decrease, what will

be the effect on the contribution margin ratio and the break-even point, respectively?

Contribution margin ratio Break-even point

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3; 5 Level: Medium Source: CMA; adapted

19 Which of the following is true regarding the contribution margin ratio of a single product company?

A) As fixed expenses decrease, the contribution margin ratio increases

B) The contribution margin ratio multiplied by the selling price per unit equals the contribution margin per unit

C) The contribution margin ratio will decline as unit sales decline

D) The contribution margin ratio equals the selling price per unit less the variable expense ratio

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3 Level: Medium

20 If a company is operating at the break-even point:

A) its contribution margin will be equal to its variable expenses

B) its margin of safety will be equal to zero

C) its fixed expenses will be equal to its variable expenses

D) its selling price will be equal to its variable expense per unit

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5; 7 Level: Medium

21 At the break-even point:

A) sales would be equal to contribution margin

B) contribution margin would be equal to fixed expenses

C) contribution margin would be equal to net operating income

D) sales would be equal to fixed expenses

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

Trang 5

22 The break-even point would be increased by:

A) a decrease in total fixed expenses

B) a decrease in the ratio of variable expenses to sales

C) an increase in the contribution margin ratio

D) none of these

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Medium

23 Which of the following strategies could be used to reduce the break-even point?

Fixed expenses Contribution margin

A) Increase Increase

B) Decrease Decrease

C) Decrease Increase

D) Increase Decrease

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

24 Break-even analysis assumes that:

A) Total revenue is constant

B) Unit variable expense is constant

C) Unit fixed expense is constant

D) Selling prices must fall in order to generate more revenue

Ans: B AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

25 Target profit analysis is used to answer which of the following questions?

A) What sales volume is needed to cover all expenses?

B) What sales volume is needed to cover fixed expenses?

C) What sales volume is needed to earn a specific amount of net operating income?D) What sales volume is needed to avoid a loss?

Ans: C AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 6 Level: Easy

Trang 6

26 The margin of safety can be calculated by:

A) Sales − (Fixed expenses/Contribution margin ratio)

B) Sales − (Fixed expenses/Variable expense per unit)

C) Sales − (Fixed expenses + Variable expenses)

D) Sales − Net operating income

Ans: A AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 7 Level: Medium

27 If the degree of operating leverage is 4, then a one percent change in quantity sold should result in a four percent change in:

A) unit contribution margin

B) revenue

C) variable expense

D) net operating income

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 8 Level: Easy Source: CMA; adapted

28 Which of the following is the correct calculation for the degree of operating leverage?A) net operating income divided by total expenses

B) net operating income divided by total contribution margin

C) total contribution margin divided by net operating income

D) variable expense divided by total contribution margin

Ans: C AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 8 Level: Easy

29 Which of the following is an assumption underlying standard CVP analysis?

A) In multiproduct companies, the sales mix is constant

B) In manufacturing companies, inventories always change

C) The price of a product or service is expected to change as volume changes.D) Fixed expenses will change as volume increases

Ans: A AACSB: Reflective Thinking AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 9 Level: Easy

Trang 7

30 Hopi Corporation expects the following operating results for next year:

Sales $400,000

Margin of safety $100,000

Contribution margin ratio 75%

Degree of operating leverage 4

What is Hopi expecting total fixed expenses to be next year?

A) $75,000

B) $100,000

C) $200,000

D) $225,000

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 1; 3; 8 Level: Hard

Solution:

Current sales - Breakeven sales = Margin of safety

Substituting the given information into the above equation, we will have:

$400,000 − Breakeven sales = $100,000

Breakeven sales = $300,000

Breakeven sales = Fixed expenses ÷ Contribution margin ratio

Substituting the given information into the above equation, we will have:

$300,000 = Fixed expenses ÷ 0.75

Fixed expenses = $225,000

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31 Escareno Corporation has provided its contribution format income statement for June The company produces and sells a single product.

Sales (8,400 units) $764,400

Variable expenses 445,200

Contribution margin 319,200

Fixed expenses 250,900

Net operating income $ 68,300

If the company sells 8,200 units, its total contribution margin should be closest to:A) $301,000

B) $311,600

C) $319,200

D) $66,674

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 1 Level: Easy

Solution:

Current contribution margin ÷ Current sales in units = Contribution margin per unit

$319,200 ÷ 8,400 = $38 contribution margin per unit

If 8,200 units are sold, the total contribution margin will be 8,200 × $38, or $311,600

32 Rovinsky Corporation, a company that produces and sells a single product, has

provided its contribution format income statement for November

Sales (5,700 units) $319,200

Variable expenses 188,100

Contribution margin 131,100

Fixed expenses 106,500

Net operating income $ 24,600

If the company sells 5,300 units, its net operating income should be closest to:

Trang 9

Current sales dollars ÷ Current sales in units = Sales price per unit

$319,200 ÷ 5,700 = $56 sales price per unit

Current variable expenses ÷ Current sales in units = Variable expense per unit

$188,100 ÷ 5,700 = $33 variable expense per unit

Sales (5,300 units × $56) $296,800

Variable expenses (5,300 units × $33) 174,900

Contribution margin 121,900

Fixed expenses 106,500

Net operating income $ 15,400

33 Sorin Inc., a company that produces and sells a single product, has provided its contribution format income statement for January

Sales (4,200 units) $155,400

Variable expenses 100,800

Contribution margin 54,600

Fixed expenses 42,400

Net operating income $ 12,200

If the company sells 4,600 units, its total contribution margin should be closest to:A) $54,600

B) $59,800

C) $69,400

D) $13,362

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 1 Level: Easy

Solution:

Current contribution margin ÷ Current sales in units = Contribution margin per unit

$54,600 ÷ 4,200 = $13 contribution margin per unit

If 4,600 units are sold, the total contribution margin will be 4,600 × $13, or $59,800

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34 Decaprio Inc produces and sells a single product The company has provided its contribution format income statement for June.

Sales (8,800 units) $528,000

Variable expenses 290,400

Contribution margin 237,600

Fixed expenses 211,700

Net operating income $ 25,900

If the company sells 9,200 units, its net operating income should be closest to:

A) $27,077

B) $49,900

C) $36,700

D) $25,900

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 1 Level: Easy

Solution:

Current sales dollars ÷ Current sales in units = Sales price per unit

$528,000 ÷ 8,800 = $60 sales price per unit

Current variable expenses ÷ Current sales in units = Variable expense per unit

$290,400 ÷ 8,800 = $33 variable expense per unit

Trang 11

35 The Bronco Birdfeed Company reported the following information:

Sales (400 cases) $100,000

Variable expenses 60,000

Contribution margin 40,000

Fixed expenses 35,000

Net operating income $5,000

How much will the sale of one additional case add to Bronco's net operating income?A) $250.00

B) $100.00

C) $150.00

D) $12.50

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 1 Level: Easy

Solution:

Current contribution margin ÷ Current sales in cases = Contribution margin per case

$40,000 ÷ 400 = $100 contribution margin per case

If one additional case is sold, net operating income will increase by $100

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36 The margin of safety in the Flaherty Company is $24,000 If the company's sales are

$120,000 and its variable expenses are $80,000, its fixed expenses must be:

A) $8,000

B) $32,000

C) $24,000

D) $16,000

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3; 5; 7 Level: Hard

Solution:

Current sales - Breakeven sales = Margin of safety

Substituting the given information into the above equation, we will have:

$120,000 - Breakeven sales = $24,000

Breakeven sales = $96,000

Sales - Variable expenses = Contribution margin

$120,000 - $80,000 = $40,000

Contribution margin ratio = Contribution margin ÷ Sales

Contribution margin ratio = $ 40,000 ÷ $120,000

Contribution margin ratio = 0.33333

Breakeven sales = Fixed costs ÷ Contribution margin ratio

Substituting the given information into the above equation, we will have:

$96,000 = Fixed costs ÷ 0.33333

Fixed costs = $32,000

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37 Dodero Company produces a single product which sells for $100 per unit Fixed expenses total $12,000 per month, and variable expenses are $60 per unit The

company's sales average 500 units per month Which of the following statements is correct?

A) The company's break-even point is $12,000 per month

B) The fixed expenses remain constant at $24 per unit for any activity level within the relevant range

C) The company's contribution margin ratio is 40%

D) Responses A, B, and C are all correct

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3; 5 Level: Medium

Solution:

Answer A is not correct because:

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Profit

$100Q = $60Q + $12,000 + $0

$40Q = $12,000

Q = $12,000 ÷ $40 per unit = 300 units

300 units × $100 selling price per unit = $30,000 breakeven sales in dollars

Answer B is not correct because fixed costs change as activity level changes

Answer C is correct because:

Contribution margin per unit = Selling price per unit - Variable expenses per unit

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38 Holt Company's variable expenses are 70% of sales At a $300,000 sales level, the degree of operating leverage is 10 If sales increase by $60,000, the degree of

operating leverage will be:

A) 12

B) 10

C) 6

D) 4

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3; 8 Level: Hard

Net operating income $ ?

Current degree of operating leverage = Current contribution margin ÷ Current net operating income

10 = $90,000 ÷ Current net operating income

Current net operating income = $90,000 ÷ 10 = $9,000

Contribution margin = Fixed expenses - Net operating income

Net operating income $ 27,000

Degree of operating leverage = Contribution margin ÷ Net operating income

= $108,000/$27,000 = 4.0

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39 Gayne Corporation's contribution margin ratio is 12% and its fixed monthly expenses are $84,000 If the company's sales for a month are $738,000, what is the best estimate

of the company's net operating income? Assume that the fixed monthly expenses do not change

A) $565,440

B) $654,000

C) $88,560

D) $4,560

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3 Level: Easy

Net operating income $ 4,560

40 Jilk Inc.'s contribution margin ratio is 58% and its fixed monthly expenses are

$36,000 Assuming that the fixed monthly expenses do not change, what is the best estimate of the company's net operating income in a month when sales are $103,000?A) $23,740

B) $59,740

C) $67,000

D) $7,260

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3 Level: Easy

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41 Creswell Corporation's fixed monthly expenses are $29,000 and its contribution margin ratio is 56% Assuming that the fixed monthly expenses do not change, what isthe best estimate of the company's net operating income in a month when sales are

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 3 Level: Easy

Net operating income $24,200

42 Wilson Company prepared the following preliminary budget assuming no advertising expenditures:

Selling price $10 per unit

be the budgeted net operating income?

A) $175,000

B) $190,000

C) $205,000

D) $365,000

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Medium Source: CPA; adapted

Trang 17

Net operating income $ 205,000

* Current variable expenses ÷ Current sales in units = Variable expense per unit $600,000 ÷ 100,000 = $6 variable expense per unit

43 Data concerning Kardas Corporation's single product appear below:

Per Unit Percent of SalesSelling price $140 100%

Variable expenses 28 20%

Contribution margin $112 80%

The company is currently selling 8,000 units per month Fixed expenses are $719,000 per month The marketing manager believes that a $20,000 increase in the monthly advertising budget would result in a 180 unit increase in monthly sales What should

be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?A) decrease of $160

B) increase of $20,160

C) decrease of $20,000

D) increase of $160

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Easy

Solution:

8,000 units 8,180 unitsSales (8,000 units, 8,180 units × $140) $1,120,000 $1,145,200

Variable expenses

($1,120,000, $1,145,200 × 20%) 224,000 229,040

Contribution margin 896,000 916,160

Fixed expenses 719,000 739,000

Net operating income $ 177,000 $ 177,160

Increase in net operating income: $177,160 - $177,000 = $160

Trang 18

44 Kuzio Corporation produces and sells a single product Data concerning that product appear below:

Per Unit Percent of SalesSelling price $130 100%

Variable expenses 78 60%

Contribution margin $ 52 40%

The company is currently selling 6,000 units per month Fixed expenses are $263,000 per month The marketing manager believes that a $5,000 increase in the monthly advertising budget would result in a 140 unit increase in monthly sales What should

be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?A) increase of $2,280

B) increase of $7,280

C) decrease of $5,000

D) decrease of $2,280

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Easy

Solution:

6,000 units 6,140 unitsSales (6,000 units, 6,140 units × $130) $780,000 $798,200

Variable expenses

($780,000, $798,200 × 60%) 468,000 478,920

Contribution margin 312,000 319,280

Fixed expenses 263,000 268,000

Net operating income $ 49,000 $ 51,280

Increase in net operating income: $51,280 - $49,000 = $2,280

Trang 19

45 Data concerning Dorazio Corporation's single product appear below:

Per Unit Percent of SalesSelling price $160 100%

Variable expenses 48 30%

Contribution margin $112 70%

Fixed expenses are $87,000 per month The company is currently selling 1,000 units per month Management is considering using a new component that would increase the unit variable cost by $28 Since the new component would increase the features of the company's product, the marketing manager predicts that monthly sales would increase by 400 units What should be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?

A) increase of $5,600

B) increase of $33,600

C) decrease of $5,600

D) decrease of $33,600

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Easy

Solution:

1,000 units 1,400 unitsSales (1,000 units, 1,400 units × $160) $160,000 $224,000

Variable expenses

(1,000 units × $48, 1,400 units × $76) 48,000 106,400

Contribution margin 112,000 117,600

Fixed expenses 87,000 87,000

Net operating income $ 25,000 $ 30,600

Increase in net operating income: $30,600 - $25,000 = $5,600

Trang 20

46 Chovanec Corporation produces and sells a single product Data concerning that product appear below:

Per Unit Percent of SalesSelling price $170 100%

Variable expenses 68 40%

Contribution margin $102 60%

Fixed expenses are $521,000 per month The company is currently selling 7,000 units per month Management is considering using a new component that would increase the unit variable cost by $6 Since the new component would increase the features of the company's product, the marketing manager predicts that monthly sales would increase by 500 units What should be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?

A) decrease of $48,000

B) decrease of $6,000

C) increase of $48,000

D) increase of $6,000

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Easy

Solution:

7,000 units 7,500 unitsSales (7,000 units, 7,500 units × $170) $1,190,000 $1,275,000

Variable expenses

(7,000 units × $68, 7,500 units × $74) 476,000 555,000

Contribution margin 714,000 720,000

Fixed expenses 521,000 521,000

Net operating income $ 193,000 $ 199,000

Increase in net operating income: $199,000 - $193,000 = $6,000

Trang 21

47 Data concerning Pellegren Corporation's single product appear below:

Per Unit Percent of SalesSelling price $200 100%

Variable expenses 40 20%

Contribution margin $160 80%

Fixed expenses are $531,000 per month The company is currently selling 4,000 units per month The marketing manager would like to cut the selling price by $14 and increase the advertising budget by $35,000 per month The marketing manager predicts that these two changes would increase monthly sales by 500 units What should be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?

A) decrease of $18,000

B) increase of $38,000

C) decrease of $38,000

D) increase of $58,000

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Easy

Solution:

4,000 units 4,500 unitsSales (4,000 units × $200, 4,500 units × $186) $800,000 $837,000Variable expenses

(4,000 units × $40, 4,500 units × $40) 160,000 180,000Contribution margin 640,000 657,000Fixed expenses 531,000 566,000Net operating income $109,000 $ 91,000Decrease in net operating income: $109,000 - $91,000 = $18,000

Trang 22

48 Cobble Corporation produces and sells a single product Data concerning that product appear below:

Per Unit Percent of SalesSelling price $160 100%

Variable expenses 48 30%

Contribution margin $112 70%

Fixed expenses are $499,000 per month The company is currently selling 5,000 units per month The marketing manager would like to cut the selling price by $13 and increase the advertising budget by $33,000 per month The marketing manager predicts that these two changes would increase monthly sales by 900 units What should be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?

A) increase of $56,100

B) decrease of $8,900

C) increase of $99,300

D) decrease of $56,100

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Easy

Solution:

5,000 units 5,900 unitsSales (5,000 units × $160, 5,900 units × $147) $800,000 $867,300Variable expenses

(5,000 units × $48, 5,900 units × $48) 240,000 283,200Contribution margin 560,000 584,100Fixed expenses 499,000 532,000Net operating income $ 61,000 $ 52,100Decrease in net operating income: $61,000 - $52,100 = $8,900

Trang 23

49 Data concerning Bazin Corporation's single product appear below:

Per Unit Percent of SalesSelling price $100 100%

Variable expenses 20 20%

Contribution margin $ 80 80%

Fixed expenses are $384,000 per month The company is currently selling 6,000 units per month The marketing manager would like to introduce sales commissions as an incentive for the sales staff The marketing manager has proposed a commission of $9 per unit In exchange, the sales staff would accept a decrease in their salaries of

$46,000 per month (This is the company's savings for the entire sales staff.) The marketing manager predicts that introducing this sales incentive would increase monthly sales by 500 units What should be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?

A) increase of $27,500

B) decrease of $64,500

C) increase of $41,500

D) increase of $507,500

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Easy

Solution:

6,000 units 6,500 unitsSales (6,000 units × $100, 6,500 units × $100) $600,000 $650,000Variable expenses

(6,000 units × $20, 6,500 units × $29) 120,000 188,500Contribution margin 480,000 461,500Fixed expenses 384,000 338,000Net operating income $ 96,000 $123,500Increase in net operating income: $123,500 - $96,000 = $27,500

Trang 24

50 Sannella Corporation produces and sells a single product Data concerning that product appear below:

Per Unit Percent of SalesSelling price $220 100%

Variable expenses 66 30%

Contribution margin $154 70%

Fixed expenses are $991,000 per month The company is currently selling 8,000 units per month The marketing manager would like to introduce sales commissions as an incentive for the sales staff The marketing manager has proposed a commission of

$11 per unit In exchange, the sales staff would accept a decrease in their salaries of

$74,000 per month (This is the company's savings for the entire sales staff.) The marketing manager predicts that introducing this sales incentive would increase monthly sales by 200 units What should be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?

A) increase of $1,246,600

B) increase of $14,600

C) decrease of $133,400

D) increase of $71,800

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Easy

Solution:

8,000 units 8,200 unitsSales (8,000 units × $220, 8,200 units × $220) $1,760,000 $1,804,000Variable expenses

(8,000 units × $66, 8,200 units × $77) 528,000 631,400Contribution margin 1,232,000 1,172,600Fixed expenses 991,000 917,000Net operating income $ 241,000 $ 255,600Increase in net operating income: $255,600 - $241,000 = $14,600

Trang 25

51 Cherry Street Market reported the following information for the sales of their only product, cherries sold by the pint:

Total Per UnitSales $31,500 $4.50

Variable expenses 9,450 1.35

Contribution margin 22,050 $3.15

Fixed expenses 13,000

Net operating income $ 9,050

Cherry Street would like to increase their selling price by 50 cents per unit, and feel that this will decrease sales volume by 10% Should Cherry Street increase the price, and what will the effect be on net operating income?

A) Yes; $3,500 increase

B) Yes; $945 increase

C) No; no change

D) No; $945 decrease

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 4 Level: Medium

Solution:

Current sales (dollars) = Current per unit price × Current sales (units)

$31,500 = $4.50 × Current sales (units)

7,000 = Current sales (units)

7,000 units 6,300 unitsSales (7,000 units × $4.50, 6,300 units × $5.00) $31,500 $31,500Variable expenses

(7,000 units × $1.35, 6,300 units × $1.35) 9,450 8,505Contribution margin 22,050 22,995Fixed expenses 13,000 13,000Net operating income $ 9,050 $ 9,995Increase in net operating income: $9,995 - $9,050 = $945

Trang 26

52 A company makes a single product that it sells for $16 per unit Fixed costs are

$76,800 per month and the product has a contribution margin ratio of 40% If the company's actual sales are $224,000, its margin of safety is:

A) $32,000

B) $96,000

C) $128,000

D) $192,000

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5; 7 Level: Medium Source: CIMA; adaptedSolution:

Break-even in total sales dollars = Fixed expenses/CM ratio

= $76,800/0.400 = $192,000

Margin of safety in dollars = Sales - Break-even sales

= $224,000 - $192,000 = $32,000

53 The following data are available for the Phelps Company for a recent month:

Product A Product B Product C TotalSales $150,000 $130,000 $90,000 $370,000Variable expenses 91,000 104,000 27,000 222,000Contribution margin $ 59,000 $ 26,000 $63,000 148,000Fixed expenses 55,000Net operating income $ 93,000The break-even sales for the month for the company are:

A) $91,667

B) $203,000

C) $148,000

D) $137,500

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5; 9 Level: Medium

Trang 27

Product A Product B Product C TotalSales $150,000 $130,000 $90,000 $370,000Variable expenses 91,000 104,000 27,000 222,000Contribution margin $ 59,000 $ 26,000 $63,000 148,000Fixed expenses 55,000Net operating income $ 93,000Overall CM ratio = Total contribution margin/Total sales

Selling price per unit $1.80

Contribution margin ratio 40%

Total fixed expenses for the year $218,700

How many units will Hartl have to sell next year in order to break-even?

A) 121,500

B) 202,500

C) 303,750

D) 546,750

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Medium

Solution:

Variable cost per unit = $1.80 × (1 - 40%)

Variable cost per unit = $1.08

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Profit

$1.80Q = $1.08Q + $218,700 + $0

$0.72Q = $218,700

Q = $218,700 ÷ $0.72 per unit = 303,750 units

Trang 28

appear below:

Selling price per unit $150.00

Variable expense per unit $73.50

Fixed expense per month $308,295

The break-even in monthly unit sales is closest to:

A) 2,055

B) 4,030

C) 4,194

D) 3,426

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

Solution:

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Profit

$150.00Q = $73.50Q + $308,295 + $0

$76.50Q = $308,295

Q = $308,295 ÷ $76.50 per unit = 4,030 units

56 Data concerning Buchenau Corporation's single product appear below:

Selling price per unit $150.00

Variable expense per unit $34.50

Fixed expense per month $466,620

The break-even in monthly unit sales is closest to:

A) 3,111

B) 6,892

C) 4,040

D) 13,525

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

Solution:

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Profit

Trang 29

57 Hevesy Inc produces and sells a single product The selling price of the product is

$200.00 per unit and its variable cost is $80.00 per unit The fixed expense is $300,000per month The break-even in monthly unit sales is closest to:

A) 2,500

B) 1,500

C) 3,750

D) 2,583

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

Solution:

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Profit

$200.00Q = $80.00Q + $300,000 + $0

$120.00Q = $300,000

Q = $300,000 ÷ $120.00 per unit = 2,500 units

58 Wenstrom Corporation produces and sells a single product Data concerning that product appear below:

Selling price per unit $130.00

Variable expense per unit $41.60

Fixed expense per month $109,616

The break-even in monthly dollar sales is closest to:

A) $342,550

B) $204,455

C) $109,616

D) $161,200

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

Solution:

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Profit

$130.00Q = $41.60Q + $109,616 + $0

$88.40Q = $109,616

Q = $109,616 ÷ $88.40 per unit = 1,240 units

1,240 units × $130.00 selling price = $161,200

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59 Data concerning Follick Corporation's single product appear below:

Selling price per unit $110.00

Variable expense per unit $30.80

Fixed expense per month $321,552

The break-even in monthly dollar sales is closest to:

A) $1,148,400

B) $638,851

C) $321,552

D) $446,600

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

Solution:

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Profit

$110.00Q = $30.80Q + $321,552 + $0

$79.20Q = $321,552

Q = $321,552 ÷ $79.20 per unit = 4,060 units

4,060 units × $110.00 selling price = $446,600

60 Wimpy Inc produces and sells a single product The selling price of the product is

$150.00 per unit and its variable cost is $58.50 per unit The fixed expense is $366,915per month

The break-even in monthly dollar sales is closest to:

A) $601,500

B) $366,915

C) $636,408

D) $940,808

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

Trang 31

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Profit

$150.00Q = $58.50Q + $366,915 + $0

$91.50Q = $366,915

Q = $366,915 ÷ $91.50 per unit = 4,010 units

4,010 units × $150.00 selling price = $601,500

61 The Saginaw Ice Company had sales of $400,000, with variable expenses of $162,000 and fixed expenses of $98,000 Which of the following is closest to Saginaw's break-even point?

A) $260,000

B) $165,000

C) $140,000

D) $238,000

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 5 Level: Easy

Trang 32

62 Product Y sells for $15 per unit, and has related variable expenses of $9 per unit Fixed expenses total $300,000 per year How many units of Product Y must be sold each year to yield an annual profit of $90,000:

A) 50,000 units

B) 65,000 units

C) 15,000 units

D) 43,333 units

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 6 Level: Easy

Solution:

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Target profit

$15Q = $9Q + $300,000 + $90,000

$6Q = $390,000

Q = $390,000 ÷ $6 per unit = 65,000 units

63 Caneer Corporation produces and sells a single product Data concerning that product appear below:

Selling price per unit $240.00

Variable expense per unit $81.60

Fixed expense per month $997,920

The unit sales to attain the company's monthly target profit of $44,000 is closest to:A) 7,896

B) 12,769

C) 6,578

D) 4,341

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 6 Level: Easy

Trang 33

64 Data concerning Bedwell Enterprises Corporation's single product appear below:

Selling price per unit $160.00

Variable expense per unit $65.60

Fixed expense per month $387,040

The unit sales to attain the company's monthly target profit of $17,000 is closest to:A) 6,159

B) 4,280

C) 2,525

D) 4,321

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 6 Level: Easy

Solution:

Sales = Variable expenses + Fixed expenses + Target profit

$160.00Q = $65.60Q + $387,040 + $17,000

$94.40Q = $404,040

Q = $404,040 ÷ $94.40 per unit = 4,280 units (rounded)

65 Hettrick International Corporation's only product sells for $120.00 per unit and its variable expense is $52.80 The company's monthly fixed expense is $396,480 per month The unit sales to attain the company's monthly target profit of $13,000 is closest to:

A) 7,755

B) 6,093

C) 5,753

D) 3,412

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 6 Level: Easy

Trang 34

66 Logsdon Corporation produces and sells a single product whose contribution margin ratio is 63% The company's monthly fixed expense is $720,720 and the company's monthly target profit is $28,000 The dollar sales to attain that target profit is closest to:

A) $471,694

B) $454,054

C) $1,188,444

D) $1,144,000

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 6 Level: Easy

Solution:

Total sales dollars to attain target profit

= (Fixed expenses + Target profit)/CM ratio

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 6 Level: Easy

Solution:

Total sales dollars to attain target profit

= (Fixed expenses + Target profit)/CM ratio

= ($296,400 + $7,000)/0.52 = $583,462 (rounded)

Trang 35

68 Majid Corporation sells a product for $240 per unit The product's current sales are 41,300 units and its break-even sales are 36,757 units.

What is the margin of safety in dollars?

A) $8,821,680

B) $6,608,000

C) $9,912,000

D) $1,090,320

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 7 Level: Easy

Solution:

Margin of safety in dollars:

Break-even sales = $240 per unit × 36,757 = $8,821,680

Current sales = $240 per unit × 41,300 = $9,912,000

Margin of safety in dollars = Sales - Break-even sales

= $9,912,000 - $8,821,680 = $1,090,320

69 Mcmurtry Corporation sells a product for $170 per unit The product's current sales are 10,000 units and its break-even sales are 8,100 units The margin of safety as a percentage of sales is closest to:

A) 23%

B) 81%

C) 19%

D) 77%

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 7 Level: Easy

Solution:

Margin of safety in dollars:

Break-even sales = $170 per unit × 8,100 = $1,377,000

Current sales = $170 per unit × 10,000 = $1,700,000

Margin of safety in dollars = Sales - Break-even sales

= $1,700,000 - $1,377,000 = $323,000

Margin of safety as a percentage of sales = Margin of safety in dollars ÷ Current sales

= $323,000 ÷ $1,700,000 = 19%

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70 Cubie Corporation has provided the following data concerning its only product:

Selling price $100 per unit

Current sales 10,600 units

Break-even sales 9,540 units

What is the margin of safety in dollars?

A) $1,060,000

B) $106,000

C) $954,000

D) $706,667

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 7 Level: Easy

Solution:

Margin of safety in dollars:

Break-even sales = $100 per unit × 9,540 = $954,000

Current sales = $100 per unit × 10,600 = $1,060,000

Margin of safety in dollars = Sales - Break-even sales

= $1,060,000 - $954,000 = $106,000

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71 Ensley Corporation has provided the following data concerning its only product:

Selling price $200 per unit

Current sales 30,300 units

Break-even sales 21,816 units

The margin of safety as a percentage of sales is closest to:

A) 61%

B) 28%

C) 72%

D) 39%

Ans: B AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 7 Level: Easy

Solution:

Margin of safety in dollars:

Break-even sales = $200 per unit × 30,300 = $6,060,000

Current sales = $200 per unit × 21,816 = $4,363,200

Margin of safety in dollars = Sales - Break-even sales

Net operating income $ 75,000

What is the company's margin of safety percentage to the nearest whole percent?A) 42%

B) 38%

C) 33%

D) 25%

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 7 Level: Medium

Trang 38

Margin of safety in dollars:

Break-even sales = $50 per unit × 8,000 = $400,000

Current sales = $50 per unit × 12,000 = $600,000

Margin of safety in dollars = Sales - Break-even sales

B) 16%

C) 160%

D) 40%

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 8 Level: Easy

Solution:

Degree of operating leverage = Contribution margin ÷ Net operating income

Degree of operating leverage = $50,000 ÷ $10,000 = 5

Percent increase in net operating income

= Percent increase in sales × Degree of operating leverage

= 8% × 5 = 40%

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74 The February contribution format income statement of Mcabier Corporation appears below:

a Degree of operating leverage = Contribution margin/Net operating income

= $251,100/$41,300 = 6.08

b Percent increase in net operating income

= Percent increase in sales × Degree of operating leverage

= 19% × 6.08 = 115.52%

Sales $211,200Variable expenses 96,000Contribution margin 115,200Fixed expenses 84,100Net operating income $ 31,100

The degree of operating leverage is closest to:

A) 0.27

B) 6.79

C) 3.70

D) 0.15

Ans: C AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 8 Level: Easy

Solution:

Degree of operating leverage = Contribution margin/Net operating income

= $115,200/$31,100 = 3.70

Trang 40

75 Serfass Corporation's contribution format income statement for July appears below:

Sales $260,000

Variable expenses 176,000

Contribution margin 84,000

Fixed expenses 71,800

Net operating income $ 12,200

The degree of operating leverage is closest to:

A) 0.05

B) 0.15

C) 21.31

D) 6.89

Ans: D AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 8 Level: Easy

Solution:

Degree of operating leverage = Contribution margin/Net operating income

= $84,000/$12,200 = 6.89

76 Rushenberg Corporation's operating leverage is 10.8 If the company's sales increase

by 14%, its net operating income should increase by about:

A) 151.2%

B) 14.0%

C) 77.1%

D) 10.8%

Ans: A AACSB: Analytic AICPA BB: Critical Thinking

AICPA FN: Reporting LO: 8 Level: Easy

Solution:

Percent increase in net operating income

= Percent increase in sales × Degree of operating leverage

= 14% × 10.8 = 151.2%

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